A Happy Dad makes a Happy Child (GF Vegan Dark Chocolate Coffee Mint Banana Ice Cream)

*This is a month late post as I intended to share this for Father’s day. But by all means, give this recipe a try since it’s quick to prepare especially if you already have some bananas on-hand!

Dad, Father, Papa, Itay, Tatay, Ama, Pa, Chichi, and Pops are just some of the words we use to call the man who helped our moms to give birth to us. The first man whom we admire and love. The first man in our life. And the man who shapes our ideal man, for when it is time for us to choose a lifetime partner, and eventually starting a family of our own.

It is also well known that most daughters have a special bond with their fathers, the same special bond most sons share with their mothers. Yes, it seems like it is a gender kind of thing. I for one is a sucker for dad-daughter bonding. Yes, yes, I am proud to say that I am part of the daddy’s girl sector. Hah.

Proud to be Daddy’s (not so) Little Princess

I do love my mom to the moon and back the same way I love my dad. However, there are times in my life wherein I seek for dad instead of mom.

Now, I remember my dad in his prime and some of the stories he shared about his youth. I’ve always seen him as a formidable force not to be trifled with. Aherm. He is stern, authoritative and a disciplinarian. Yet, at the same time, he is charming, loving and very naughty and playful, especially when it comes to his daughters and daughters-in-law. I’ll let you figure out and let your imagination run wild as to how he is toward his grandkids, given the grandparents-grandkids relationship. *cough, cough* Yes, my dad is tough on the outside and soft on the inside and he is a doting husband to my mom. Even in his mature age, he would still walk on the danger side and is still and will always be your classic dictionary definition of a gentleman.

My words, amidst my vast vocabulary, are not enough to express how I truly appreciate and love this dad of mine. However, this daughter can try, right? (I love you to bits, dharleeeng!)

GF Vegan Dark Chocolate Coffee Mint Banana Ice Cream

And based on how I view my dad, I made this GF Vegan Dark Chocolate Coffee Mint (n)Ice Cream aka Dharleeeng’s Vegan Ice Cream to honour him. The perfect combination of the bitterness of coffee and dark chocolate and the natural sweetness of bananas truly reminds me of my dharleeeng during his prime. Sweet and Strong. And the mint flavor expresses his funk and coolness. The add-ins like dark chocolate chips and cashew adds texture to this sweet cold treat, mimicking his ability to throw you in for a loop, if need be!

He’s not a really picky eater and as far as I recall, he would usually consume whatever dish I serve him with much gusto. 

Ginataang Munggo (outside my kitchen)

There was this instance during my high schools years, I just came back from a Girl Scouts Camp where I learned how to make Mung Bean Stew aka Ginataang Munggo. I was still on a high from the experience of learning something new, so I decided to re-make the recipe at home for my dad. But the clumsy me, decided not to use any measuring cups and suddenly poured in way too much fermented fish sauce (liquid bagoong). The end result, a way-too-salty dish that no amount of water can rescue. LOL. However, my loving dad still had his fill. Of course, being loving doesn’t mean that he can always turn a blind-eye. He lovingly and jokingly commented on the over-saltiness of the dish. Honesty is still the best policy, after all. LOL. I love you, dharleeeng and thank you for putting up with all of my #amapolisms and being a willing guinea pig to eat my ‘experiments in the kitchen’!

This year, I chose to play around with how he makes me feel and how I view him using clean and healthy ingredients. Although I still added some sugar to balance out the bitterness of the other ingredients, I can still say that I opted for a healthier type: coconut sugar.

If you decide to give this sweet treat a try, you can add some GF Vegan brownie cubes as well (if on a gluten-free diet). The great thing about Nice Cream as base is that it’s so versatile, you can let your imagination run wild as to flavors and add-ins! Throw in some vegan blondies, brownies, breakfast bars, nuts and seeds of choice, dried fruit of choice… the add-ins are endless! This dairy-free ice cream can truly turn that frown upside down and make you giddy and blissful. Definitely a good reason to say that bananas are also called the happy fruit!

There will definitely be other Nice Cream recipes to be shared with you lovelies in the near future! As always, let me know what you think by letting me know @amreyskitchen or dropping your comments and sharing your photos. I’d love to see your creations!

Recipe on the next page.

Let’s keep on spreading LOVE with an Amrey’s Kitchen Mindfully Crafted Treat!

Happy blending, lovelies and keep on #GREENing EVERY.SINGLE.DAY!

Leave a comment