Hello 2014! Goodbye 2013! –Part 1

Today’s the third day of 2014 and I’m certain most of you are done with your New Year’s Resolutions. It is believed that the start of a new year is a perfect time for new beginnings, to make changes and to start fresh. Most of us are pumped because of the ‘HOPE’ a new year brings.

Before I share my thoughts for 2014, first, I’d like to share how 2013 was for my kitchen.

After a little over one year hiatus, the very first creation I made for 2013 was also one of the biggest (in size) for my kitchen. It was also my first ever rectangular cake. Since I started churning out edible artwork in 2009, most of my creations were circular, save for my bars and brownies, that is. 😉 A sewing-inspired creation for an amazing woman celebrating her 60th birthday!

 

1st.rectangular.cake.ever!

1st.rectangular.cake.ever!

Along with this creation, a former colleague also asked me to create something for her 5-month old daughter.

I definitely need to work on my piping and lettering!

I definitely need to work on my piping and lettering!

Being able to take part in special occasions for these people, I was honored and thrilled. And the icing on the cake? They loved what I made for them, both in taste and design! This was a big boost for my kitchen after the hiatus. Amazing, right? So, to these 2 people, thank you for your confidence, not just in my kitchen but also in me!

2013 also started my love-affair with embroidery design. A sweet canvas, some buttercream or royal icing plus a stiff brush, the inner Picasso in me was ecstatic!

 

flowers. embroidered flowers.

flowers. embroidered flowers.

I then had the opportunity of meeting people who are actively pursuing cultural work, healthier living and entrepreneurial women empowerment. I spent most of 2013 learning from most of them and I plan to continue this process as I still have a lot to learn. I also started researching more about natural sweeteners as alternative for my edible artwork. I haven’t fully mastered the substitution, but I’d love to think I’m on the right path.

The interactions I had with these people influenced my product list for the holiday season. From the bottom of my heart and the depths of my oven, THANK YOU to all these people!

It is a little tricky to summarize a whole year into 1 post, but I do hope I get it down pat. To end this post, 2013 was not that smooth sailing, but it was, nonetheless, an awesome and blessed year. And I am bidding it farewell with gratitude and lessons learned!

maraming-salamat-po

Check back for part 2 of this post: My hopes and wishes for the year 2014.

 

 

Leave a Reply

